Healthy Banana Oaty Pancakes – Recipe Lovin’ Wednesday

 

Hello sweet peas,

Yes you heard! Healthy pancakes and I’m about to share with you my own yummy recipe, mm.

Okay, yes I know I’m a little late on the bandwagon and if you’re a health freak like myself you’ll know that literally down every healthy related blog, Instagram, or twitter ‘healthy pancakes’ are everywhere. (Of course I had to try them out for myself)

I’ve looked for so long and endless recipes over and over trying to fin the right one for myself. Of course with the substitutes of flour and sugar changing like there’s no tomorrow however I still couldn’t find on I was happy with (or had the right ingredients.. oppps) So after endless thinking and trying I decided to just alter my usual oatmeal recipe and convert it to pancakes and with a bit of tweaking it actually became extremely straight forward and easy to use. Even if I still haven’t perfected the ‘perfect pancake stack’, they were still yummy…

20140623-014519-pm.jpg

The Ingredients

  • 15/20g Steel cut oats
  • 1 Egg + 1 Egg White
  • 1 banana (Half mashed and half left for topping unless you want your pancakes super sweet)
  • 1 tsp of baking powder
  • 1 tsp of vanilla essence – optional (I love vanilla)
  • Cinnamon – optional
  • 1 tsp of flax seeds – optional
  • Which ever toppings you like – I would recommend raspberries, strawberries, blueberries, Greek yogurt, peanut butter, cinnamon, grape nuts, or almonds but spoil yourself go for anything you like!

And that’s it, – easy right?!

Method

Lucky for you the method for these pancakes is just as easy because it’s basically just ‘plonking’ all the ingredients together and blending away! Haha.

First I get my oats in a bowl, now stupidly my blender broke and I’m still waiting on a new one, so I have the joys of managing with a hand whisk/blender – it still works just as good though! They do need to be blended however as I use the oats as a flour substitute.

I then add in half the mashed banana, the egg and egg white, baking powder, vanilla essence, cinnamon and flax seed- and as I said it’s as easy as blending them all together until you get a clear, runny pancake looking mixture (making sure all your oats are blended well)

When this is done begin to heat your pan with either a little bit of coconut oil or the 1 cal spray I sometimes use, again this is all down to your own preferential. Wait a few minutes and add 1 to 2 table spoons of the mixture to the pan, depending on the size and thickness of your pancakes you’d like. You could also add a few blueberries or raspberries at this point jsut to give them a little bit more flavor.

Leave the first side to set for 1 to 2 minutes before carefully (the bit I tend to fail….) attempting to flip them over, if you’re successful you should get the perfect pancake, and I envy you…

Let that set for another minute or until your happy before repeating until all of your mixture is done and dusted with, see easy!

Then obviously you can top and serve them however you please, I love blueberries, raspberries and bananas. I’m still yet to find more wonderful creations.

If you also love good old healthy pancakes please let me know some of your fabby topping ideas, I’d love to know!

Speak soon,

Holl xxx

 

One thought on “Healthy Banana Oaty Pancakes – Recipe Lovin’ Wednesday

  1. Pingback: Banana Oatmeal Pancakes - Gluten Free

Leave a Reply

