The inner writer – 10 days of writing 3

Hello sweet peas,

I’ve made day three, (round of applause? I think so)

I like day three, as I’m one of them strange people in life who get attached to the silliest, simplest of things, so here you go..

Possessions – What is your most prized possession? Why do you value it? How did you come across it? 

To be honest I actually have quite a few of these, I mean don’t we all? These little things around us – big or small, that when we stop and realize, we establish they actually mean the world to us. I never believe it to be wrong, if it makes you happy I’m all the more for it- with even the silliest of things from something down to treasuring a bloody fork…. Okay maybe that does sound slightly abnormal but hey you get my point.

Anyway I’ll stop my blabbering; I’ll give you a few of mine;

My first and most important is a hippo soft toy I’ve had for god knows how long and yes ironically he is called ‘Hippo’ (I was a creative child, honest!) We all get attached to a teddy at least once in our lives (admit it) but we grow and it most likely gets thrown to the bottom of the car boot sale box buckled up for his departure. Yet as sad as it sounds, I’ve never once been able to bring myself to part from the little fella, and most likely never will. He has been here there and flaming everywhere. Every holiday, trip, car journey, hospital visit, operation, illness and sleepless night (I’m a huge kid, shush) he’s also heard every secret, problem and worry and if he could actually hear…. He’d be gobsmacked, haha. He holds a lot of memories and happy times for me, which is always nice to recall and know he holds all them little gritty bits. Obviously I’m not as obsessed with him as I used to be, yet I know I still couldn’t go on holiday without popping him in my suitcase. I mustn’t be the only one still prizing a soft toy like this…. Surely!

I also have a weird attachment to bracelets and ankle bracelets and it got that bad that when my favorite one snapped I burst to tears. God knows why! I think I just got so used to them being there, they became a comfort which I guess felt safe. They also show places I’ve been and things I’ve seen, collecting them from around the world, they act like a human memory box. Us humans have funny way of working, don’t we eh?

I do apologize but I’m going to point out the obvious with this one and claim my bed because god I love that place! Don’t we all? Yet recently I literally treasure that place as if my life depended on it. Every night for the past week I have reluctantly collapsed into bed and admired falling into the pillow and within five minutes I’m gone. At least that’s one good thing in my life, ey, I’m a great sleeper.

The last thing I most certainly have a bizarre attachment to and possess over is actually a song. If you know me you’ll know that I’m the biggest Marina and the Diamonds fan, I seriously adore that woman and her music and she holds my one of my favorite songs of all time – Lies. When I saw her perform this song live it had me done, I was in sobs, purely because I love it so much and ever since it’s always felt like my song. I’ve never even properly related to it, I just feel so attached to it and god knows why however I do tend to feel like that towards plenty other of her wonderful creations, such as Obsessions and Power and Control. Don’t get me wrong, anyone can love her of course, but they are my songs okay? 😉 haha.

Most certainly a night I want to re-live

Most certainly a night I want to re-live

So there you go some of my weird and wonderful possessions and values in life but hey they make me happy! What are some of yours? Are they just as weird and wonderful? I’d love to know!

Speak soon,

Holl xxx

 

Leave a Reply

