My ‘supposedly’ Insperational hour

no-regrets

I’ll make this short lovelies (well I’ll try, blasted blabbering) because I’m feeling rather drained today however I got some kind of magical inspirational spurge and thought I’d float away into one of my writing sessions.

I’m not one for quotes, in fact it;s very rare I’ll actually come across something in which moves me or motivates me in any way, shape or form. Which you probably find rather strange coming from someone who enjoys to write their life away…

However I think that’s the problem – too many words and phrases are being completely abused and overused in making kids and teens feel somewhat better about there lives and self’s, like telling them “Happiness can be found in the darkest of times” or “Smile and the world will smile with you” is ever going to sink into their brains in the long run. Yeah, it may give them some urge to be ‘happy’ but that will soon pass..

Or maybe I’m just a complete cynic in ‘soppy’ words (because to be completely honest, I cannot stand the stuff)

Anyway, I’m completely going off my tangent here, opps..

Despite my utter ranting there, I have actually come across something in which I rather like and has given me a tad bit of inspiration on my ‘slumpy’ day.

Make it a rule of life to never regret and never look back. Regret is an appalling waste of energy; you can’t build on it; it’s only good for wallowing in!” – Kathrine Mansfield

I’m not going to lie, I absolutely adore this! (however I am wondering whether it’s simply the fact she uses the phrase ‘appalling waste of energy’ because my god I love that) It’s straight to the point and true and it’s made me think.

All the things I’ve decided to do throughout my life – even up to all the bad choices and mistakes I’ve made and am currently making – they’re all done and there is simply no erasing them anymore. I’ve done them, so where is regretting them getting me?

I’m one for making mistakes and through something as daunting as an eating disorder, you become unbelievably selfish through not your own fault but the disorders. And I can sit here and tell you now, I regret many things said and actions I have made however I think it’s time to finally stop the guilt and the regretting and realize that I only did these things because at the time they felt right. And NO, I don’t mean the whole ‘things happen for a reason’ business, I mean they just simply happened.

We cannot keep living in a world where we constantly want to change the impossible because reality check, you’re only hurting yourself by doing so.

As good old Kathrine has said – Regret is good for nothing.

I’ll be sure to keep this one close.

I hope you’re all well and I’m sorry for my somewhat rant but when a girl has gotta express she’s gotta express,

– I have a few blog posts coming up for the next week so keep watch.

Speak soon,

Holl xx

One thought on “My ‘supposedly’ Insperational hour

  1. I love this! I totally respect you for opening up about your eating disorder because I too, had one and that one bit you said did so much for me… as did the post itself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

